Fundraising

Fundraising

We raise funds for this cause and that
New committees set up at the drop of a hat
I’m out on a collection drive
Of light bulbs for the mosque to thrive
Then I think back and reflect
Of our values and what we select

The collection drive we need
Is of worship and good deeds
The funds we need to raise
Is of thawab with thanks and Allah’s praise
The only funds that will be useful
Is sabr and shukr – goodness that’s fruitful

What do we spend our time on, what’s our aim
Worry about wealth, glory and fame
Another successful fundraising drive
Is that our goal for what we strive
The funds I’d like to raise
To show the world and truly amaze

What we Muslims can do to help mankind
For the sake of Allah be ever so kind
If our individual actions could only speak
Louder than words, no egos to peak
Silent good deeds, appropriately done
No praise sought, no accolades sung

Can I not just buy bulbs for the masjid
Pray they won’t refuse or be rigid
May I see the masjid as mine
Do what I can only for the Divine
Ya Allah, let us know the best fundraising
Comes from knowing you in hamd, praising

No agenda of fame or glory
If only with ikhlas I can live my story
Small things done on the quiet
Consistently without ruckus or riot
As torch bearers of deen
Do the best and be keen

Our every action is viewed by others
Do we truly act as an ummah, as brothers
How do I drive, how do I shop
Rudely, looking for the bargain till I drop
How do I behave at the hospital
With bureaucracy at the capital

Can I say thanks to the one manning the till?
Can I bring some joy in their life, and some vacuum fill?
Can courtesy be my trade mark
Can I trigger in people their divine spark

Those are the moments I’d like to collect
That’s the fundraising I’d like to select
May each moment be divinely inspired
May Muslims with goodness be only fired

© Najma Ansari
13 Dec 2006 Rome

Published by


Leave a comment